Graveyard Chamber

There’s any number of things that pretty much guarantee (eventually) a blog posting in this blog space, including but not limited to skateboarders throwing away lucrative sponsorship deals in favor of paying Don Cannon American dollars to shout slogans on a 75-minute mixtape, switch backside noseblunt slides, and various situations involving Fred Gall, moving vehicles and open containers. Another has been Jake Johnson skate footage, even recycled, it shines like a diamond-studded DVS logo pendant: the imitable Quartersnacks has fused a couple youtube clips’ worth of 3-4 year old video, some of which I’d seen, some not — like the couple runs near the end of the second clip incorporating some 180s up and down a median curb that zoomed me back to the one all those Zoo York/World guys used to skate with the turned-over trash can (or not, as the case may have been). That and the kickflip f/s tailslide in the first clip. Quartersnacks claims to be sitting on a long-form interview with Jake Johnson which will probably be worth reading. He seems to have come up with a healthy baked-in sense of disillusionment which tends to complement East Coast skating and his off-the-grid movements are refreshing paired up against Twitter shouting matches between kids and pros closing in on 40. Pulling for the rumored Alien promo with Gilbert Crockett or at least some Gravis one-off to come next year, which will go some way towards offsetting the European sovereign debt crisis and the bad feelings that will come when AT&T Mobility steals all of Boost Mobile’s best riders.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Graveyard Chamber”

  1. - Says:

    it was the same median: astor cube, baby.

  2. art hellman Says:

    time to retire the title of “skater’s skater” from (__fill in blank___)
    and pass it on to Jake.

    lets just hope his lack of a social media presence continues…

    GET OFF OF MY (i)CLOUD

    I live in an apartment on the ninety-ninth floor of my block
    And I sit at home looking out the window imagining the world has stopped
    Then in flies a guy who’s all dressed up like a Union Jack
    And says, I’ve won five pounds if I have his kind of detergent pack

    I said, Hey! You! Get off of my cloud Hey! You! Get off of my cloud
    Hey! You! Get off of my cloud

    Don’t hang around ’cause two’s a crowd n my cloud, baby

    The telephone is ringing I say, “Hi, it’s me. Who is it there on the line?”
    A voice says, “Hi, hello, how are you, well, I guess I’m doin’ fine”
    He says, “It’s three a.m., there’s too much noise don’t you people ever wanna go to bed?
    Just ’cause you feel so good, do you have to drive me out of my head?”

    I said, Hey! You! Get off of my cloud
    Hey! You! Get off of my cloud
    Hey! You! Get off of my cloud
    Don’t hang around ’cause two’s a crowd
    On my cloud baby

    I was sick and tired, fed up with this and decided to take a drive downtown
    It was so very quiet and peaceful there was nobody, not a soul around
    I laid myself out, I was so tired and I started to dream
    In the morning the parking tickets were just like a flag stuck on my window screen

    I said, Hey! You! Get off of my cloud
    Hey! You! Get off of my cloud
    Hey! You! Get off of my cloud
    Don’t hang around ’cause two’s a crowd
    On my cloud

    Hey! You! Get off of my cloud
    Hey! You! Get off of my cloud
    Hey! You! Get off of my cloud
    Don’t hang around, baby, two’s a crowd

  3. In Which We Discuss The Potential For Stacking Some American Dollars Via Spot Profiteering « boil the ocean Says:

    [...] his shot at the Fred Gall ledge-to-handrail? Should Jake Johnson have taken heat for tilting at the Astor Cube? Were hard feelings harbored after Bob Puleo tried his hand over in [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

