Freeze the ocean

Like many a faceless internet blowhard, there is little I hate more than being wrong, and I would sooner plunge my face into a soggy pile of Frank Gerwer’s befouled trousers than admit it. Yet over the six months or so that I’ve yammered away in this space I’ve definitely been completely totally wrong about a few things, and my conscience won’t let me watch Trapasso’s part in the new TWS vid again until I’ve set things straight, although most of these are fairly obvious. Anyhow. Boil the Ocean regrets the following errors:


Adio: not actually out of business
I sort of jumped on board with the rumor-mongers on this one, mostly because it seemed so plausible to me. Like, why wouldn’t Adio go out of business? Yet as Duffs has taught us time and time again, it takes some fairly extraordinary fucking up to fall out of the skateboard shoe game. And although several of Adio’s higher-profile dudes jumped ship and they apparently closed a warehouse and fired a bunch of people, they do indeed keep on keepin’ on with the business of making ugly skate shoes for slow-witted Journeys customers. But, they still have a pretty solid team in place (Brezinski, Broussard, Montoya), and provided Kenny Anderson doesn’t fall under the spell of the Converse dollar they may well outlive Dekline.

As if to prove they’re not only still around, but have enough extra money to buy an HD camera, Adio put up this podcast a few weeks ago that features some pretty gnarly skating by Nick Dompierre and the rest.


411vm: Still existing in some form or another
More news that seemed a long time coming, except that as soon as I said something about it 411 changed their website into some portal to action sports-themed Friendster knockoff Skateboard.com, with this announcement, which was later removed. (And the 411 website is now back to its normal self, such as it is.) As Europeskate notes both these skateboard media powerhouses belong to the illustrious Wasserman Media Group so this may be more of a reshuffling than 411’s card being pulled, but for now, the future of those free DVDs in cardboard sleeves remains in question, so maybe I wasn’t actually wrong, yet.


Es shoe designs not all that bad
Like most other thinking people I made fun of Es shoes’ more out-there designs when they unveiled their fall 2008 goods, but I don’t think I really gave them enough credit for doggedly sticking with their tradition of teched-out shoes in a time when the fashion pendulum has swung so far toward the minimal. Also, having gone through several pairs of the Square One, I ought to say that it’s probably one of the best skate shoes made right now, and in Es’s storied history. Which isn’t to say that Es doesn’t make some ridiculous, silly-looking damn shoes. But the percentage of wearable shoes put out by Es is probably about equal to the average skate shoe company, except that instead of numerous Dunk/Era/Half-Cab/Stan Smith rehashes, Es makes neon spaceship boots. Which is of course their God-given right as an American company owned by a French freestyler.


Burton/Gravis not the devil, probably
I realize I’ve gone pretty hard at Burton and Alien for everything that’s transpired over there recently, and I don’t really take any of it back, but I do think the above shoe from the upcoming Gravis “IVSkate” venture is cool.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Freeze the ocean”

  1. Watson Says:

    Fuckin sellout! Never admit defeat!

    Kidding, kidding, come on, just kidding.

Leave a Reply

