D’s Get Degrees


“Had a scholarship/but I blew that”

Before we get into the Nate Sherwood IQ test I would like to recommend that everyone who’s able take a moment out of their day and check out Nick` Dompierre’s new ad for Real. Holy shit, right? Now then.

I don’t write in this space for a job, which is good for a couple reasons: one, it probably wouldn’t carry the comprehensive benefits package to which I have become accustomed, and two, I would doubtless end up getting fired by none other than Nate Sherwood, which would be a whole other level of surreality that no number of MC Hammer sermons or Gary Coleman meltdowns could prepare me for. If you don’t know what I’m getting at, well, this is what I’m getting at:

I am just stating that unlike many other careers skateboarding has no quality control. This is just a brief brain storm of some of the basic things I feel a person should know before they write or talk about skateboarding as a job.

This is among the several pearls of wisdom doled out by Sherwood in the preface to the Skateboard IQ Test he devised and posted on Skateboard.com (no longer affiliated with 411VM). There are others, as well as an endearing, meandering tale of how the pressure-flipper from Portland rescued some Duffs master tapes en route to founding skateboarding’s answer to the National Gallery. (I think.)

Anyhow, on to the test. I’ve skated longer than 10 years and could probably do a convincing imitation of a boneless/powerslide and a backside 180/half cab. So that’s the application portion sorted. Next, the written exam, which I approach with no small amount of dread. Longtime readers (i.e., five months or more) will remember that such skateboard quizzes are kind of a Quixotic quest of mine. Nevertheless:

What is the key difference between an Inward 360 heel flip and a Lazar flip?
Oh, inward versus outward rotation on the shove, got it.

Who was the first skater to do a full cab ollie over a picnic table off flat? 

I’m guessing Matt Hensley, though I can only recall him doing them off a bump just now.

Who was the first to back smith a hand rail?
Jeremy Klein? It seemed like a big deal when I saw the World video…

Who invented the big spin?
Shit. Um. Lotti? That seems way too late. Maybe Natas? Shit…

Then they will have to list their top 20 favorite skaters of all time and why they are their favorite.
I’ll spare you. Ronnie Creager would be in there though. And Robbie Gangemi. AVE.

Alas, when we get to the bottom we find that Nate Sherwood chose not to list the answers, so off to Wikipedia, which was depressingly unhelpful.
-Caballerial, Full Cab or Cab, is an aerial skateboarding trick. It is another name for a Fakie backside 360 ollie.
-This trick was named after its inventor Mike Smith. It is considered by many to be the most difficult basic grind trick.The backside version was originated by deaf Florida powerhouse Monty Nolder.
-The trick is named after Brian Lotti, whose name sounds like “lottery.” His friend named the trick after the California Lottery’s Big Spin game.

Nate, if you read this, please provide the answers, as I’m interested to know how I performed on the test, though I suppose most of my answers for the written portion were the equivalent of filling in the ol’ Scantron sheet so the bubbles spell out “SLAYER” or something. I am, however, feeling somewhat more positive about my Berrics bracket, which remains intact after Mike Mo’s convincing win over Ramiro Salcedo last weekend.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “D’s Get Degrees”

  1. Erik Says:

    Embarrassed

  2. Watson Says:

    When I was a kid whenever I would be running out of time on those standardized tests, I would fill in all the remaining choices as A C D C A C D C. Funny thing is, I always have and always will fucking despise everything about AC/DC. Terrible band.

    Who did you pick for winner of the Battle? I really want to know.

    Who’s this Ramiro Salcedo kid? What a weird name. Sounds like he needs a clever nickname.

  3. Henry Says:

    nick dompierre. not nate. skate-stickler.

Leave a Reply

