On And Off Again: A Video Magazine’s Tale


In case you don’t understand, I’ma make it understood again

ON Video: a FIC x BTO collab

Right up front let me just tell you how I’m generally unreliable and a veteran procrastinator: I hollered at frozen in carbonite quite some time ago to see if he wanted to do kind of a point/counterpoint thing about 411’s star-crossed “On Video” series, after I issued some smart remark about it and he nobly rose to On’s defense. So he wrote some shit and sent it to me. In the ensuing months, love affairs were launched, puppies lost and reclaimed, missiles deployed and a black man became president. And eventually I decided I needed to get on it before the cow jumps over the fucking moon.

Oh, and in all that time I didn’t watch or download or stream a single piece of On Video footage, and I know there’s at least one floating around my hard-drive. I think it’s the Rodney Mullen one, which I did watch at one point, and downloaded years later in hopes that it was the Love Park issue and I could comb it for Kalis footage to include in this project. But, I didn’t even watch that. And, I never bought any.

Which is basically what I imagine the guestbook at the On Video wake would have read. “Never bought one.” “Watched part of it at my cousin’s house once.” “Got ‘Reel to Real’ instead.” “Too much talking.” Et cetera. On Video, beloved by some, ignored by others, bought by very few. It was definitely a much-welcome lifesaver those long Wednesday mornings when I worked a skate shop, but even then I don’t recall watching one more than once or twice, with the possible exception of the half-hour Danny Way love-feast. And didn’t ever buy one, even with my mighty 10%-above-cost discount.

I did purchase the Arcade tour video, but that’s a whole other ball of worms and just one of my several personal problems.

Which is not to say the forward-thinking On series, and their obnoxious magazine ads with the inexplicable giant red dots, served zero purpose aside from running down the Natas-Satan name imbroglio to half-wit sixth graders. Fueled by a great abundance of tour footage, in an age when each and every road trip was deemed worthy of its own 411 segment (or a section in the abysmal “Around the World” videos), On got people thinking about the history, personalities and places skateboarding has produced over the past few decades as a subject worthy of serious consideration for your independent documentaries or vanity press books or what have you, at roughly the same time the current incarnation of skateboarding was powdering its collective nose for star turns on ESPN, MTV, and any numbers of theaters near you.

Frozen in Carbonite lauds On Video, rightly, for parsing the process behind pivotal video parts, people, places in skateboarding, ideas that were picked and expanded upon by the Stacy Peraltas and Epicly Later’ds and various others. Interesting, sometimes intriguing, usually at least marginally entertaining. But when the chips have been counted and so on, to me the process will forever be second to the finished product, burger over bun, the four-point-five second clip rather than the 90 intense minutes it took to climb the fence, pass over the generator and camera bags, patch the cracks and set up the lights.

Hearing Marc Johnson emphasize the stress and drama that went into making “Fully Flared” doesn’t put the proverbial balls any closer to the wall when it comes to Alex Olson’s part, or make the see-saw slow motion any less distracting. Commentaries are fine, and I enjoyed hearing about Guy Mariano’s favorite hat and the Girl honchos’ ruminations on rap music in video parts, but after one or two times through I’m back to the Earth Wind & Fire, thank you. And trying to build a skate video around the documentary idea hasn’t proved especially successful, at least to me (and I’m thinking mainly of the at-times eyeball-rolling “Hot Chocolate” video here).

And you know what – there’s something to be said for the apocrypha of skateboarding, stories that belong to them what who was there or somehow passed down via skateboard shop bullshitting, post-video screening mullings or after you’ve been at the spot a couple hours and everybody’s spending more time shooting the shit than trying tricks anymore. As valuable as the Andy Roy Big Brother interview remains, as a document and, yes, a manifesto for living one’s life, there’s something vaguely sad about the idea of it being reduced to a handful of jpgs to be bandied about messageboards and LOL’ed over. It’s sort of disappointing to think that anybody with a cable modem can click through the highlights of “Tim & Henry’s Pack of Lies,” a video that used to be next to impossible to see, much less own.

Insert here bitter old man comment re: earning it, building character, etc.

It’s certainly not like I hated On Video. And it’s not like I don’t love Epicly Later’d (though my shriveled internet grinch heart did break a bit when Pappalardo and Wenning didn’t get back together at the end of the most recent episode). Without On’s at times fumbly foundation-building, maybe O’Dell wouldn’t have been able to nail it as he seems to have done – disposable, free-of-charge slices of skateboard lore in easy-to-digest six-minute bites, to be viewed and forgotten as necessary, bought on disc by the library-builders. It remains to be seen how often I come back to the DVD of season one, which I didn’t pay for… or the Lakai box set, which I did. (Sans Blu-Ray players, too.) The grand fool-maker time will no doubt reveal which ends up being the better investment…

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “On And Off Again: A Video Magazine’s Tale”

  1. Mike Says:

    Tell the truth, did you buy “Unknown Empire” after seeing the ads in 411?

  2. C&H Says:

    Does the Andy Roy bit have a “viral interview” following of sorts? How do these LOL-ers even know who Roy is? And do you really think more than five skateboarders on earth know what “apocrypha” means?

  3. hoen Says:

    ‘hot chocolate’ was a turd. I’m glad someone else is with me. had they cut out the talking parts, it would have been a better video.

    ‘apocrypha’ maybe only 5 skaters know the definition of apocrypha, but a couple more now have the option of looking it up.

  4. breakfast Says:

    …is the title a Hobbit reference?

  5. Chris Says:

    ‘Hot Chocolate’ is one of my favorites. In my mind the documentary feel gave it a bit of a soul and made me want to go skate even more. It works for me in the same way ‘Super Champion Funzone’ and ‘Beauty And The Beast’ do.

    On a day to day basis skateboarding for me isn’t just watching a trick happen, but the journey and experience with friends and terrain. In that way, these videos stoke me to skate more than watching the one take (out of sixty) of a trick landed. It’s fine and all, but my best times on a board have been with friends and experiencing the process of skateboarding.

  6. Rocuronium Says:

    Having mostly lived out of the skateboading loop (smalltown CO, Wyoming, New Mexico, New Orleans), things like ON & Epicly Later’d have helped me glom some of the great apocryphal legends in skateboarding.
    Especially when it comes to some of the things/people I never cared much about but the whole industry applauds unequivocally (Tom Penny, for example, or Brian Lotti. Nothing against them, was just jazzed on others at the time (Rowley, Hensley, Barbier).

  7. woozers Says:

    On video was THE shit. On Video Fall summer 2001 (can’t confirm, not at home atm) was my first video I got, I watched it so many times. Ontage featured The Chief, Arto, Ethan Fowler, was just sick. After that my goal was to get more of the ON video mag.

    Anyway, good read.

  8. Why God Love Killed All the Egyptian Cattle in Bible Versus Quran? , (83) | ThongBox Says:

    […] On And Off Again: A Video Magazine’s Tale « boil the ocean […]

Leave a Reply

